THE HUNDRED-FOOT JOURNEY: Gone but not forgotten

It was months ago that I saw The Hundred-Foot Journey – back when it was still in all the theaters. But I was not in a very bloggy mood at the time, and it eventually fell completely off my radar. That’s not to say you shouldn’t see it, though – you probably should. That is unless you’ve already read the book, in which case it depends. I haven’t read the book myself. In fact, I didn’t even know there was one until my fiddle-friend B.W. pointed it out to me. However, I have it on good authority that the book is “very different from the movie.” So, there. That’s sorted. Sort of.

The movie version is an inspiring story of an aspiring young Indian chef who decides to leave behind his cultural roots in order to explore new cuisines and new career opportunities. As he braises and blanches his way across beautiful France, trying to make a name for himself, so many questions arise: Will he be successful in this cutthroat industry? Will he get the girl (aka the sous-chef)? And, more importantly, can curry and chervil exist in the same kitchen? I’ll let you take a wild-thyme guess.

We also have the Oscar-winning Dame Helen Mirren playing a French gentlewoman, which she mostly pulls off. However, I do believe Catherine Deneuve or someone of her ilk (meaning someone French) would’ve made a better casting choice, unencumbered as she’d be by that pesky British accent. And since we’re splitting hairs, I may as well say that I disapproved even more strongly of the casting of her male counterpart, played by Om Puri. Irrfan Khan clearly would have been better suited to the role, and not just because I love him unconditionally.

And I guess that explains why it took me so long to get around to writing this review. I do so hate to complain about a movie like some bloodthirsty film critic! And despite the casting objections I had, I still enjoyed it immensely. It would be hard not to enjoy it. As for the young people at the center of the tale, the casting director got them completely right – they were absolute perfection. Yes, there is plenty to love about this particular journey. I’m only sorry it took me so long to tell you about it!

Leave a comment